Close Menu
R|M Law Group LLP
Contact Us For A Free Consultation 24/7 888-765-2902 En Español

RM Law Group attorneysMarriage is a major commitment, which is why many spouses find themselves wondering about the legal requirements for divorce. Is it really that easy to get divorced in California? How long do you need to wait? Do you need to prove anything? These are all common questions for spouses in the Golden State, and it is best to answer them with the help of a qualified divorce attorney. That being said, you might be surprised at how minimal the requirements for divorce really are in California.

Waiting Periods

 First of all, you should know that there are various waiting periods involved with getting a divorce in California. To be eligible to pursue a divorce in this state, you and your spouse must have lived here for at least six months. In addition, you need to live in your specific county for three months before filing for divorce. Once you move forward with your divorce, you need to go through a mandatory waiting period of six months. This is known as a “cooling off” period, and it gives spouses the chance to think about whether they really want to end the marriage. The clock starts ticking when a spouse is served with the divorce papers, and it provides you with the earliest possible date of the official termination of the marriage.

While this six-month period might seem excessive, it’s worth noting that many other states have longer waiting periods. For example, North Carolina makes you wait 12 months.

Do I Need a Valid Reason to Get Divorced in California?

 California is a “no-fault” divorce state, which means that you don’t need to prove that you are getting divorced for a specific reason – such as adultery, domestic violence, or substance abuse. Instead, you can simply file for a divorce due to “irreconcilable differences.” This rather vague term basically means that the relationship just isn’t working, and it’s beyond saving.

Agreeing on How to Handle Your Divorce

 Your options are to go to trial in a “litigated divorce” and have a judge decide how your divorce should be handled, or you can settle out of court through mediation or collaborative law. The legal fee for filing your divorce papers is about $450 in California.

Where Can I Find a Qualified Divorce Attorney in El Monte?

 If you have been searching for a qualified, experienced divorce attorney in El Monte, look no further than RM Law Group, LLP. Over the years, we have helped numerous divorcing spouses in the Golden State, and we understand how uncertain this period can be. Book a consultation with us, and you can ask any questions you might have while discussing your unique situation. While internet research might be a positive first step, it can never provide you with personalized advice based on your specific circumstances. Reach out today to get started.